What are DVC owners doing with expiring points?

Canadian Girl

DIS Veteran
My daughter and I own two small contracts at AKL we are still paying for. One has 60 banked points expiring at the end Nov. 2021. We live in Atlantic Canada and there is only one RCI resort east of Quebec we could use it for and it seems pretty impossible we can use it at WDW before it expires. How easy is it to rent points out and how does that work for Canadians? The situation in Canada and south of us is really depressing.

Good Morning

I am an amateur at this but I am willing to try and share some information I have gathered.

1. You can not transfer points to another member if they are banked points.

2. You can *rent* out a dedicated reservation you have made.
You simply made a reservation using your points under your account & name and then list it for X number of dollars.

3 The sponsor of this board does not handle Canadian dedicated reservation due to some Tax Id number issue.

4. I don't know if the DIS boards allows dedicated reservation rentals?
Maybe someone else can comment or you could email the rental board moderator and ask.

5. This is what I have been doing for the past 2 years.
I make a reservation for a time period that I think might be popular for local residents of Orlando.
(Easter/March Break/Christmas/New Year etc.)
I then email David's Vacation club rental and ask them to rent out the reservation.
They charge $4.50 per point for their service,, so if you list at $19.00 per point you will receive $14.50 per point.
They then contact you when someone is interested and you accept or decline.
If you accept you call the 1-800 DVC number and follow the email from David's to change the name only on the reservation.
David's will then send you 70% of the amount (withholding 30% until check in date).
You will need a PayPal account for the money to be transferred into. (USD are paid).

Make sure you are comfortable with David's rental contract before committing.