Waitlist for a complete newbie who is finding it hard to wait

qv09vvp

Disney or Bust
So we've closed & I'm waiting for my member number.

Now I have a new forum to stalk. :)

Quick question on the waitlists that are being talked about...

given that that the 11 month and 7 month windows are long past, if you do a waitlist--- I figure most people know their dates and room types.....just wondering are waitlists by resort? room type? or what?

TIA!

Waitlist is by resort and room category (size/view). You can have two open at a time. They are filled sort of in order of waitlisting, with the caveat that your entire requested stay must match, and you must be front of line.

So if you are 5th in line and waitlist a M-F, but Bob, Mary and Jane in front of you waitlisted M, W, F for that unit type before you got on the waitlist and a Saturday-Friday stay is cancelled, Bob, Mary and Jane's waitlists will be fulfilled, and T and Th will go back into the bookable room pool. You will get nothing.

If someone then cancels a Sun-Tuesday stay, you will again get nothing, because it won't match up. for dates, complete

just wondering are waitlists by resort? room type? or what?
You are limited to two active wait lists and each wait list is very specific: resort + room size + view. For example, Boardwalk Villas has three different views: Standard, Boardwalk View, and Pool/Garden view. If you wanted to set up a wait list for a studio there, you cannot set it up for "any studio at BWV". You could set up one wait list for "BWV, Studio, Pool and Garden view" and use your other wait list for, say, "BWV, Studio, Boardwalk view". If a Standard View studio happened to become available for your dates, it wouldn't match either of your wait lists. Therefore, when creating a wait list it's best to set it up for the view category with the largest number of rooms at the resort, to increase your odds.