Tokyo Disney Trip Report - June 2011

txmama

Earning My Ears
Hi all! We recently visited Tokyo Disney and I thought I would write a trip report. I have never done one before so bear with me. We had an amazing time. We have only visited Disneyworld once (I know!), and have never been to Disneyland. But, we had such a wonderful time at the World on our trip in December that when we were in Japan for work this summer, we knew we also had to visit Tokyo Disney!

We were able to do a nice tour of the major cities in Japan - including time in Kobe, Osaka, Hiroshima, and Kyoto - in addition to Tokyo. It was a wonderful trip. But I'll focus here on the Disney part, of course!

The characters - me, the mom; DH, the dad; DD8, and DS5. None of us speak Japanese, although DH, through about six months of work, had memorized enough characters to sound out place names and other words pretty well. The key phrases we used most were: "Are-ee-gah-toe go-sigh-ee-moss" which is the most polite form of "thank you" and also "soo-me-mass-sen" which means "excuse me."

Up first: the journey!

We were flying from Texas to Tokyo. There are direct flights but it was considerably cheaper to stop in California on our way, and with an 8-year-old and 5-year-old I thought it made sense to break up the trip. So we had a reasonable layover in Los Angeles on the way. The entire journey, from our house to the airport hotel, would take about 24 hours.

japan 009 by txmama_dis, on Flickr

This is shortly before DS5 spilled Strawberry Nesquik all over DS8. Luckily, we had packed a carry-on bag with changes of clothes for everyone (highly recommended!).

We flew the trans-Pacific leg with Singapore Airlines, which I highly recommend! Not only do they have special children's meals, but they also pass out activity packets to the kids after takeoff.

japan 014 by txmama_dis, on Flickr