SSR preferred vs standard

jbreen2010

Mouseketeer
This is my first time staying at SSR this week (new resale owner). We stayed in Congress park but had a room that looked at the bus stop. I’m thinking through my future stays and in my opinion the paddock area was a bit nicer than Congress park…just as close to a pool and that walkway down through the springs area seemed just as far to the main building. I would actually prefer that area next time and would pay the preferred points but I know that’s “standard”.

Long winded story short though…has Disney ever considered adding the paddock section to preferred and reshifting points around between standard and preferred? I get the whole closer to Disney springs thing…but with view not anything to write home about and walking a mile anyway to refill a drink, I am just wondering if there was any history in the preferred vs standard categories.

In Congress park its not about the view it about being close by DS and having less of a walk to DS. That is why they made Congress park a preferred building. Why did you walk a mile to get a refill. Just hop on a bus to get to the Carriage house. Park buses run counter clockwise and the DS bus run clockwise through the resort. You can get refills at the Paddock as well.

I'm sure all the buses at SSR run clockwise, pre COVID the DS bus did a double loop of the resort to allow guests to return to their original stop from the Carriage house facilities if required.

I book preferred now. It is certainly possible I like Disney Springs more than you do, but we took a quick jaunt over there, maybe a 5 minute walk, just to get a Dole Whip and brought it back to the room. I could not do that from the Paddock.