Service dog experiences

Can anyone share any experiences with your service dog, good or bad at WDW?

No personal experience, but just yesterday my wife and I agreed that we have never seen a service dog at Disney World during our 40 or so visits since 1972. Obviously it occurs, but not while we're around.

Good luck and I hope some experiences are posted.

Can anyone share any experiences with your service dog, good or bad at WDW?

When my family was at WDW over the holidays we encountered quite a few service dogs but never have any other time of the year! I have a feeling the weather and temperature during this time of year probably have something to do with that? We were surprised, but were glad to see so many people able to bring their service animals to the parks! While I have no personal experience with a service dog, I did make a couple of observations this last trip.

The first is that many people would approach the service animal, and most times would not ask permission before petting or attempting to feed the dog french fries or a treat. In most cases, this was children but there would be adults doing it as well. The handler would try to explain that the dog is a service animal and should not be pet or fed by strangers. Most people were respectful and apologized and moved on, but some people just wouldn't listen. :confused3

The second is that several of the dogs we saw were in training and actually ended up becoming spooked by the large crowds and some of the ride queues. One of the dogs in training got so spooked while waiting in a crowd for the holiday parade to start that it started barking and growling as more wheelchairs and families were moved into our viewing area and the family was asked to remove the animal from the premises for the safety of the other guests.

It seems like WDW is a place that could be very hard on a service animal, but also a very rewarding bonding experience for a handler and an animal that go through it together. :love: