S/O What age did/will your kid get their first phone?

MamaBelle4

DIS Veteran
My eldest is 8, so I have no experience with this yet. DH & I agreed long ago that we will buy them their first phone when they get their learner's permit, so 16 is our plan. Otherwise, the kids can use ours to talk to their friends or whatever.

No flames, here, please. Just a nice friendly discussion. So what age were or are your kids going to be when they get their first phone?

Older son was 13, I think.
Younger son got a basic phone at 10 and a smart phone a year later at 11.

They were 10, 7, 7 respectively. They all got them for Christmas a few years ago.

Last edited:
It varied, I got them phones when I felt they needed them. My oldest got hers around 9, my middle child got his around 12 and my youngest was 9 or 10.

My kids were 12-13. My son was in 6th grade. That's when he started getting dropped off more for events and sports practices. If something happened or changed, I wanted him to be able to get ahold of us. Lots of his friends had phones, but I didn't want him to always have to borrow.

I had held off longer than most of his peers, but I finally made the decision on the day that I forgot *my* phone and needed to call my husband. I could not find a pay phone ANYWHERE. I asked at the hockey rink, where my son was having practice, if I could use their phone and they said no. They had a policy against it. I checked several local fast food restaurants and the vestibule of the Walmart store -- no pay phones anywhere! When I was young, if you had a dime (then a quarter) you could pretty much count on being able to call home from somewhere... but I think pay phones are largely a thing of the past. Now they expect everyone to have a phone with them.