Run, Write, Run (comments welcome!)

nancipants

DIS Veteran
Hello everyone! With my recent plunge into running and goal of signing up for a half marathon next year, I thought I'd start one of these training journals. Lucky for me, I'm also a writer - a much better writer than runner, actually! 🤣

About me: I live just outside Disney World and am an annual passholder. I also am obsessed with Disney Cruise Line and will be doing my 9th cruise later this year. 🚢 In January I turned the answer to the life, the universe, and everything (42). I work full time as an instructional writer for a software company. I'm married to my wonderful husband and we have a toddler who keeps me on my toes. Infertility meant I became a mom later in life than planned, and trying to keep up with a very active toddler made it clear how out of shape I was. In 2021 I signed up for the 2022 Princess 5k with a group of friends and decided I was going to actually train for it! Newsflash: I didn't. I'm also a writer, and I was in the thick of finishing up a science fiction trilogy to be published by a small press, and that became my main focus.

I walked the majority of the 2022 Princess 5k, and despite feeling very out of shape, I had a ton of fun. My friend and I tried to sign up for the Marathon Weekend 2023 10k but got shut out, but were successful with the Princess 10k. I also persuaded my husband to walk the 2022 Wine and Dine 5k with me. My books came out in September-November, and I decided to take a much-needed break from writing. I started to train for the 10k, but a 3 week trip to Seattle over Christmas (and knee pain) set me back.