Renting to pay for a cruise--a hassle? when would I be paid?

Rock'n Robin

Disney Queen
After reading all the cruise/cash posts and checking the points for a 2005 cruise I have questions about renting out points. I did try to rent out points at one time and never received even one response. I would hesitate to use this method to pay for a cruise knowing I may never get any money.
However, the points are ridiculous. We have a family of 5 and have to do when school is out since I'm a teacher. We are thinking of the 2006 Eastern caribbean since we just did the western. I know I had a price of $6200, I think, when I had booked 2 cat. 10s on a western before my parents decided to go and pick up the tab. For 2005 points (which WILL go up) a cat. 4 for us would be 1150 points, and 2 cat. 10s would be 959. We will have 845 available--and that is giving up any WDW time in 2006 or 2007. By 2005 points, we would have to pay cash for our 14 year old and our 8 year old in a cat. 4, or just our 8 year old in the 2 cat. 10s. And who knows, when 2006 points come out more cash may be involved. Do I want 2 inside rooms after 2 cruises with verandahs, esp. with 3 sea days? See, cash looks better and better.
What is the key to renting out points? I will need to use 2007 points to get this 2006 cruise, can I rent them out in 2006 and have the money in 2006? Do I get the money when I rent them out or do I have to wait until the reservation, which could cause cash problems?
Robin M.

I have no experience in renting points. I think, however, that I would try to transfer my points to another member. People speak of a 3 way call to member services to do the transaction. That way you don't have any reservations to make or to worry about canceling, and you have the money to spend yourself.

Have you tried to sell points to transfer?

Bobbi:D

Originally posted by bobbiwoz