Purchasing travel insurance independently

MommyBryn

DIS Veteran
Has anyone purchased their own travel insurance? If so, what did you find and how much did it cost? I am just beginning the search for this. We are considering renting DVC and if so, my parents (who are part of our large travel party, and also funding the accommodations) are farmers and so my dad wants something that could possibly provide a little bit of a safety net should something go wrong in the farm year before the vacation next January (considering renting DVC is non-refundable/no cancellations). I have looked at the one through David's (Travel Guard?) and got a quote of $500-700, but that's the only thing I've looked at so far.

think you will find more suggestions and response for this on the cruising forum.

You might consider just doing a package through Disney (rather than renting DVC) if you anticipate issues. That way, you can get a full refund direct from Disney.

You might consider just doing a package through Disney (rather than renting DVC) if you anticipate issues. That way, you can get a full refund direct from Disney.

We have always done a package, but it's a BIG package as there are 14 of us. We wanted to try DVC this time for a villa. The only thing he really wants insurance on is the cost of the villa (upwards of $10,000) because flights and tickets are another matter. He doesn't anticipate any issues, just wants a little bit of a safeguard should something happen as farming can be quite unpredictable.

Okay, thanks! So are most of those pretty reliable? The best options for me on travelinsurance . com are Allianz and Travelex. Most of them are SO much more affordable than Travel Guard! Like, under half the cost.

travelinsurance.com

Last edited by a moderator:

I guess my next question would be, if your parents aren't able to go, would the remaining 12 go without them?