Pool at GC

robbs49

Earning My Ears
We are staying at the GC for 4 night during the week of Halloween. My 4 year old loves the water. Are the pools heated. Is there a chance of "pooling it" midday when it is warm outside or is just to chilly.

Thanks

I'm no expert, but I think it depends on the temperatures at the time of your stay, and the temperatures you're used to.

We're used to things being a bit cooler in Seattle, so when we went we felt too hot most of the time, and welcomed the chance to crawl into the pool, especially at mid-day. (A couple dips in the evening were cut short, though, when DS2 started to shiver and asked to leave.)

It looks like the average high temp is mid-70s. If that feels like swimming weather to you, go for it!

PS. Not sure, but I don't think the pool at the DLH was heated...

The pool at the GCH is heated. My experience with the onsite Disneyland hotels is that they keep the pools warm all year long. That is a big draw to staying onsite, the themed pools/pool slides so they make the effort. We have swam at Disneyland in the winter and fall months many times. October can be quite warm. We once swam in December at the DLH and we could see our breath but the water was warm. Getting out was a different story!

We swam a couple weeks ago in the morning and it was great. Like a previous poster said, it just depends on what you are used to.

Even though the pools are heated, it is too cold for us unless it is summer time! I bought my kids wetsuits at the big box store(Costco) for about $15 and we take them everywhere we travel. They can always get in the pool with them! They also stay warm heading up to the room-the worst part! We have even been places in the middle of summer where the pool was supposed to be heated and the heater was broken, no one could get in but my kids and they had the whole pool to themselves-lol. Those wetsuits were the best investment ever for so little money, we sure have gotten our money's worth!