• Controversial Topics
    Several months ago, I added a private sub-forum to allow members to discuss these topics without fear of infractions or banning. It's opt-in, opt-out. Corey Click Here

PLEASE HELP! Camera rookie - What's a good small camera?...... to take to Disney?

Spoisal

DIS Veteran
We just got back from a week long trip & we were displeased with some of our pictures - especially the night time pictures of Fantasmic & indoor pictures of the WL lobby. Probably a mistake, but we purchased a Kodak Advantix camera right before the trip - it was such a great camera to travel with - easy to load, no red eye in the pix, small, lightweight...etc etc - but we were displeased with some pictures (we used 800 speed film if that make a difference - i'm a camera novice).

My husband has a Nikkon camera that is huge, heavy, etc. takes good pictures, but I just wanted something that I could fit into my waistpack.

So - i'm willing to spend some money - what I want is:
small - lightweight - possible zoom (can you have this feature in a tiny camera?) - takes great pictures even indoors & at night - etc etc. Oh, & I don't want a digital camera at this point.

PLEASE HELP! What are your opinions?

Sometimes its where you get the pics developed that causes a problem. I got one roll developed at the poly and the quality was bad cause they overexposed the negatives. The other rolls were fine developed at my local rite aid store. Also I would use a more well rounded film like 200 speed for the advantix. Pics would be less grainy. Night pics are always tougher better to use quality camera and film and if you could a tripod. Give the advantix some more practice. Is it auto focus where you push down a button for it to focus?