Planning a new trip and feeling overwhelmed...

karibritt01

Happiest when I'm planning a trip...!
Sooo... not new to WDW or trip planning. But I am new to the planning dynamics I'm facing now, and not sure the best way to start. On previous trips, it was myself and my DH, and our 2 kids... easy peasy. Now it is myself and my 2 kids (both over 9), my fiance and his 2 kids (both under 9). I want to go for a week at the beginning of June 2014, and I'm budget minded. I have no clue where we should stay. Family suite or connecting rooms? FW cabin? Cheaper deluxe? DVC point rental? I'm hoping for FD during that time, so would we still qualify if we rent points?

Anyone that's planned for a bigger family... please advise me what worked best for you!

Six people in total. I am not sure if the suites at Art of Animations hold 6. It sounds like you may have to rent point and stay in a 2 BR villa. A 1 BR is not big enough.

Go to the rental board on this site and check it out. You will not be able to rent anything as of yet. We can't book at our home resort until 11 months prior. So you can start inquiring in July. But you can always check it to get an idea of how much it would cost. Check David's Rentals too.

Good luck.

Wish 6 people, you'd need a DVC unit that's 2 bedrooms. Even renting points, that's going to be more expensive than a cabin, family suite or 2 value rooms.

Free dining in June 2014 is highly unlikely. I would NOT count on that when budgetting.

With that many people, especially a blended family, I would highly recommend options that have 2 bathrooms. That rules out the cabins.