• Controversial Topics
    Several months ago, I added a private sub-forum to allow members to discuss these topics without fear of infractions or banning. It's opt-in, opt-out. Corey Click Here

New to DL Resort - new booking

CoolPool

DIS Veteran
Because I live in the greater L.A. area, I have never thought to stay at one of the DL resorts. A few days ago I got a postcard teasing a "special" rate at a Disneyland hotel. So I called just now and booked two nights at the Grand Californian (almost wrote Floridian) for $229+taxes a night in early October. Is this a good rate or is there a better rate out there for CA residents and/or AAA members? I'm very new to DL resorts.

How does this resort compare to the resorts of WDW? I'm much more familiar with them having stayed at the Poly many times, Contemporary, and the Animal Kingdom Lodge. I wonder if it has the immersive feeling or not?

What's your opinion of the pool and poolslide? My children are 5 and love the WDW poolslides they've experienced so its a major reason for selecting this hotel over offsite possibilities.

I forgot to ask about dining also; does the same dining plan reservation mayhem take place at DL? Do I need to make reservations 180 in advance or risk 2 nights of chicken tenders?

Thanks for your insights.

I'm no expert, but I think that's a pretty good rate. If I were to add another night to my mid-September reservation at Paradise Pier, the lesser of their three hotels, it would be about $230 directly through Disneyland.com, so I'd say your rate is nice. :)

There might be better ways to get a better rate, but I don't know how.

As for dining, with DL you make Priority Seatings (PS) 60 days out. Our trip is about 40 days away, and I just phoned up to get exactly what I wanted, a character b'fast at PP on Wednesday, and the earliest seating on Thursday at Blue Bayou so I can have a shot at getting a waterside table.