Leaving child with grandparents--where can I get medical release form?

mommystieg

<font color=green>Now understands that the one stu
My DSIL and her husband are leaving their son with her parents for a week. Is there a form they can get to authorize her parents to seek medical attention in case of an emergency? TIA :sunny:

I Work In The Medical Field,all They Have To Do Is Write A Letter
To Whom It May Concern ,i Give So And So Permission To Take My Child To The Dr Or Hospital For Any Medical Treatment While His Parents Are Away.

Whenever we leave town we just write a letter leaving permission for medical decisions for whoever is babysitting. I asked the hospital the last time my DD was in and they said that was fine. In additon I put my cell phone number on the letter so the hospital can call me with any questions.
Suzanne

pweyl36 said:
I Work In The Medical Field,all They Have To Do Is Write A Letter
To Whom It May Concern ,i Give So And So Permission To Take My Child To The Dr Or Hospital For Any Medical Treatment While His Parents Are Away.
I agree all you need is a letter and not any sort of standardized form, but try to be more specific than the above. It's not enough to say it's okay to take the child to the doctor or hospital for medical treatment. Anyone can TAKE the kids there for treatment, but you need to give your parents (or whomever) permission to CONSENT FOR MEDICAL TREATMENT in your absence. If anyone thinks I'm being too nitpicky here or splitting hairs too much, they obviously don't know too many lawyers!

It can't hurt to enumerate some common procedures, such as examination, imaging studies (x-rays, CT scans, MRIs), blood and other tissue tests, prescription and administration of medications, emergency treatment, inpatient admission, inpatient hospital treatment, casting/splinting, etc.