Hotel choices with kids?

jweb20

Earning My Ears
This is my first time going to disney as a mother. I was last there about 12+ years ago. We always stayed at the Wilderness Lodge...

I am getting ready to book a vacation now for my own family. My husband and I plus our children (2 and 6).

I really want to stay at the Wilderness Lodge..it seems logical to be close to the Magic Kingdom. Plus I always stayed there as a child. Our trip staying here is going to cost about 4,000.

If we stay at Port Orleans it's about 1,000 less.... but I wasn't sure if it might be a pain to drive to the magic kingdom? I plan on spending 2 days there... plus going in the morning, leaving to rest/pool, then going back at night.

ANY advice or experience would be appreciated!! :confused3

No advice, but I went through similar thoughts. We were booked originally at POFQ and then I changed our reservation to WL. We will only be there for four nights. I honestly could not decide if it was worth the upgrade. I finally decided to change it because we don't plan on going to Disney every year, this will also be my kids first time at Disney and I really wanted to make it special. I have always wanted to stay in a National Park lodge too. Also, a friend of mine pointed out that it might be possible to get to parks without having to fold up the stroller (I assume boat to MK and boat to Contemporary to monorail for Epcot). My kids are 4 and 6.5. I expect the 4 year old to fall asleep in the stroller every day/night. I also thought it would be easier to get to MK from WL instead of from PO. Finally, my husband mentioned to me that he is probably going to have to work while we are on our trip. I thought if he needs to work he'd probably go down to a lobby to do it. The WL lobby is much bigger than other resorts from what I know.