High Peak price anxiety!

Lisavince3

Mouseketeer
I love the feeling like I'm getting a deal, or a bargain, so in most things I buy, I tend to wait until I have a coupon, or it goes on sale. So in planning a future DCL trip (we have done 2 short cruises before, both were on DVC points), I'm having a hard time booking. The times we can go are literally twice as much as off-peak times. I want to go on the Fantasy so badly, but spending $8k in early August instead of $4k for literally the same cruise 3 weeks later is so hard for me to do.

I know we can't sail at those off-peak times for an entire week. I work in a school, all 3 of our DDs will be in school, and their sports schedule makes too difficult. So knowing we're stuck in the high price schedule, which will also be an extremely crowded time, is not enticing. I know we would have a great time, just knowing we are spending twice as much as others who will have the same experience a few weeks later is a hard pill for me to swallow. Any tips from those in the same boat on how to spend the crazy prices and to feel ok about it would be appreciated!

You will most likely have to bite the bullet.

The Fantasy being the newest ship, sells, and even more during high season. It has the occasional *GT fares, but not during those times, and then, it could be limited to adults only, or only one child, due to clubs capacity or muster stations.

Assumption: you are NOT booking concierge...

Your only option I would do is to book a future trip, but have plans on an earlier one. For example, plan on a thanksgiving or December trip and book it. However, keep an eye for *GT rates, which usually come out about 2 months prior to sailing. So in, early June, look daily for *GT rates for early August and jump on them. You could then have DCL (or TA) to move the deposit over to the new res. Of course, it helps better if you drive or don't have issues with flights.