Garage Sale Tips..

ThreeMusketeers

DIS Veteran
Hi everyone..this will be our FIRST Garage Sale. I need Tips/advice to make the most out of the weekend and how to get the most for our money. We have lots of clothes, some bigger items and lots of kid stuff. (Toys, essencials..ect..) How do you set stuff up?? Does selling Hot Dogs, Bottled Water..ect, really help out funds? Are there any other things that you do to amp up your profit??

As you can see, I am all about the money. LOL

Thanks as always..
:happytv:

Organization is key!!!seperate boys and girls clothes and sort by size...I would reccoemnd pricing somewhat cheap...when someone walks up and see $3 tshirts they decide to not look....start in the middle and people may offer less..i have never done hotdogs before...That might be a good idea..i aw this done once and it seemed people were buying....dont worry about the food as much....Just make sure everything is organized (and try to price everything!)

hope this helps

nicole

I agree that organization is important.. also if you can maybe hang up the clothes that are nicer and that you might be asking a little more for.. Thats what I usually do.. I hang the nicer clothes and then fold and organize the ones that will be less priced... I personally wouldnt sell food.. as I know in my city the last time I had a garage sale I thought there was something in the rules about selling food.. I have attempted to sell water and can cokes before and I never do any good with that although I do hear others do..

My tips for a successful sale

Make sure everything has a price on it. Have shopping bags under the table in one big bag. Have a counterfeit pen. (got a counterfeit $20.00 at my sale) Have a second person with you. Last sale I had people steel. Grandma caught several.

On one table tape a paper & pen next to it, so if you need to ad quickly, or if you would like to keep track on money.