Do you get trip insurance??

Leslie32

Going to disneyworld for the first time EVER!!!
I never thought about getting this. We are going in July and was wondering if this is worth it?

Thanks

Leslie32,

I asked about this earlier. After deciding to decline it, I changed my mind and took it. Sure maybe nothing will happen, but I if my flight gets cancelled or I have to cancel after the 45 day period, I don't want $1200 to go down the drain.

I always take insurance... I was a tavel agent for years and have been involved in some horror stories, clients who declined insurance and paid a big price for being cheap.

You never know when something will happen, an illness, an accident, lost luggage, a death in the family just prior to leaving... a death or illness in the family that you have to come back early for.

Better safe than sorry!

For cruises....absolutely. For family vacations..not usually. We don't get vacation packages, so most hotels can be cancelled if necessary, and plane tickets changed with a $100/pp fee.

NancyIL said:
For cruises....absolutely. For family vacations..not usually. We don't get vacation packages, so most hotels can be cancelled if necessary, and plane tickets changed with a $100/pp fee.

I agree...cruise...most definitely! and ditto on everything she said!

I book room only reservations. I can always change my plane tickets and have a week to cancel my room. If I had to cancel a couple of days in advance I will only be out my deposit. Many hotel offsite hotels will let you cancell that day without penalty. Packages are unattractive to us because of the cancalation policies.
Tara

What if there is a hurricane? Do you need the insurance for that reason?

Since my DH is prone to illnesses, we now make the extra investment. I feel much better this way. Caroline :teacher:

Pick up the current issue of Conde Nast magazine. Very interesting read on why you should have trip insurance, not just when you are booking a cruise.