Do strollers get broken in airplane baggage check?

AuntMinnie

Mouseketeer
I have no experience with this, so please forgive me if its a foolish question.

When strollers go thru all of the hazards of the checked baggage, do they get broken? I've seen the luggage get tossed on the belt, seen suit cases fall off the huge cart they ride the stuff out to the plane, seen strollers come flying down the baggage claim ramp, there are probablly many more hazards I haven't seen.

Our trip is for 10 days. I have a lazy bones DD4 will def. need the stroller, and a DD5 who will prob want to ride for a while during the day. So I really need my double stroller. I know that the daily rate for a double is $14. I really can not see spending $140 on stroller rental. I hope I would be able to get my stroller down there on the plane.

Any stories, good or bad?

TIA

We checked our stroller because I refuse to use it in the airport. It is much easier for me to wear dd in the sling. We took the wheels off, rolled a thick blanket around the stroller, and put it in a duffel bag. It was fine and also made it home just fine.

I've heard lots of stories of broken strollers. Because I've got young kids (whom I don't feel like lugging through the airport), I always gate-check my stroller. It's a bit of a pain to get through security, but chances are much better it won't get broken. No guarantee -- but much better odds.

I've yet to take my double stroller through security. I doubt it would fit on the conveyor belt to be x-rayed. A while back, I checked into the regs on it and found that if it can't fit through the machine, they'll just hand-wand it. A pain? Yes. But for what I paid for that thing, I'd rather deal with a little inconvenience than worry that it's getting thrown about and potentially broken.