digital scrapbooking 101...need help!

rsjj

DIS Veteran
i just came across someone's digital scrapbook page...can someone please let me know what programs/software there are available, what i would need to start something like that? and everything is stored in your computer, right? and why digital scrapbooking, vs. the regular kind, where you can show others?

i am still a novice when it comes to scrapbooking...and as far as technology is concerned, i only know what i need to know to get what i need to do done, so i'm pretty "handicapped" in that area as well. but would appreciate any help in this matter, in the most basic lameman's terms would be good! thank you!! :flower:

There are several ways to scrap digitally. You can use software entirely designed for scrapping (CK has one called scrapbook designer plus) where you can just pop in your pictures to ready made layouts or you can make your own with premade items as well. Then you can also use programs like Photoshop, Photoshop Elements, Picture It, etc. I use Photoshop and create my layout entirely myself.

They are very different methods. That's all. Digitally, you can print out your layouts (that's what I do) and place them in your scrapbook. I am doing my RCCL cruise entirelly in digital format. I've only done about 6 layouts but when I am done the album I will post them. I've also done some miscellaneous layouts which you can see HERE . I printed these out and they are hanging up in my SB room as decoration.

You can also just keep them digital and have them on a website where your family members from all over the world can look at them.

I also scrap traditionally. Which I still love doing.

I like the bulkiness and home made feeling of traditional scrapping but I really love the versatility I have in Photoshop for adding stuff and blending stuff together!

I sometimes use Photoshop to do something neat with my photos then print them out and put them in my sb layouts then sb it normally.