• Controversial Topics
    Several months ago, I added a private sub-forum to allow members to discuss these topics without fear of infractions or banning. It's opt-in, opt-out. Corey Click Here

Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT

lmok

DIS Veteran
Ok, I need some help. I'm thinking of a new camera before DCL cruise in June. Is the Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT a good one? I really want better quality.. Right now I have the Sony Cybershot 100 and don't get me wrong it is a good cameral but not always good. It is also slow and I think I miss out on some. Please help if you can. :confused3

:grouphug:

I just got the rebel a couple weeks before christmas. I am not a professional photographer in any way and I'm just beginning to learn all of the things it can do. A few people on this board gave me advice on books to buy, etc. I have taken over 300 pictures on it already between christmas and a couple hockey and volleyball tournaments.

Cons

You have to look through the viewfinder when taking a picture - it doesn't show on the screen like most digitals until after you've taken the shot.

It's much bigger than my previous digital especially considering the two lenses that I have for it so I now have to carry a big camera bag with me when I use it.

When using the highest quality shots, it takes a long time to download the pictures because they're so big. Of course you don't have to use the best, I just prefer that.

Pros

The picture quality is incredible. It's 8mp and the pictures look awesome.

The options are endless - there are 6 basic modes and 5 creative modes.