Best way to plan?

HollyJoy

DIS Veteran
A friend told me about this place today and so far, I love it! There's so much useful information here! Anyway, I"m trying to plan our disney vacation. This will be our first time taking our girls (they'll be 5 and 7 when we go) and I was just wondering what you have found to be the best way to plan/organize. Do you keep notes in a notebook, use a program on the computer? What? It seems so overwhelming to try to figure out what rides/attractions that we want to see, hints to remember, etc... Any input would be great! Thanks!

I am so jealous of you! We just got back from a trip that included a 6 year old a 4 year old and a 16 year old.

I had a spreadsheet on which I listed each day, the parks we would be in and our meals. We started with the parks based on two resources: The Unofficial Guide and Tour Guide Mike. As a newbie I found those resources (along with this board) to be invaluable. Once I id'd the parks we would be at I choose our meals. We decided on two big meals a day with snacks. We always had a late breakfast or early lunch. I went so far as to "guess" what each person would eat so as to have an accurate budget.

As for attractions, both resources I mentioned have stellar touring plans and I personally wouldn't go without them. Having a plan (even if very slowly paced) will help you to avoid what I call the "ummmm, uhhh, hmmm" syndrome: that huge amount of wasted time looking at each other and the map trying to determine what to do next.

Have a great time planning, and believe me, it will all be worth it in the end!

Anne