Anyone ever book SPR and then...

Mjasp

DIS Veteran
Anyone ever book SPR and then get changed to a "regular" category 10 inside room?

Joanna

I guess not.
I hope not cause we booked a SPR for our upcoming Cruise.

Yes, it happen to me on my cruise March 2nd 2002. I booked 13 months in advance the room 5520. One week before departure, on my docs it was indicated 7501. I was very angry.... It was a mistake between Vacation Air Canada and DCL. There was nothing that I can do. Everything was booked.

Upon return I made a complaint and received a 300 $ credit for a futur trip. I apply it on my next cruise.

So you can see, it can happen....

I booked with my TA via Air Canada vacations. My TA was surprised that I didn't have my SPH.

DCL and Air Canada vacations don't recognized that 5520 is a SPH. It is a cat. 10 only. But I send picture of the room (thanks to BARB and her wonderful site) and base on that they gave me a 300 $ credit.

OK, I give up. :o I'm a newbie here on the cruise board. :wave:

Can anyone help me out here? What do SPR and SPH stand for? :)

Thanks

SPH and SPR are the same rooms. It stands for Secret Port Hole Rooms.

They are category 10 rooms on deck 5, that have a porthole but it also has an obstructed view. Some rooms are more obstructed than others. There are six rooms 5020,22,24 and 5520,22,24.
I am pretty sure they use to be category 8's but were changed to cat. 10's after complaints of the obstructions.
You can go to www.castawayclub.com to see pics.

Joanna

That is a good question, Mjasp! We have 5520 booked, and I have wondered the same thing. I think that I have heard of just one person who DCL changed them. I do not think it happens very often at all. And, I hope not! That is, unless DCL wants to upgrade us to a nice verandah! :p

Posted by Wishing On A Star:
I hope not! That is, unless DCL wants to upgrade us to a nice verandah!

You took the letters right off my keypad!! I was just thinking the same thing:)