Annual Passholder Room Discount Question

duketennisgal

DIS Veteran
I'm new to having an annual pass. I plan to go back to Disney the last week of November, specifically I'm looking to book November 30th through December 3rd as I already have lodging for the first part of the week.

How far in advance to passholder discounts typically come out? Is it pretty standard to get a 35% discount on deluxe? I've never stayed at one of the deluxe resorts and figure since the first few days of my lodging are free and I only need to book a few days I would give it a try.

If I booked without an AP discount and then one becomes available can I update my reservation to reflect the discount?

Thanks in advance for any help you all can give me!

I've been a passholder for a few years, and it does vary. But, they *loosely* come out about a quarter in advance. So, you should start seeing rates for your time period in late summer (sometimes middle summer). It really depends on how their bookings are looking.

With that, you can switch. The easiest way is to simply book the room directly with Disney via the website, then change it to the new room using the MDE function on disneyworld.com. You can also call the reservation line. Note, this works for room-only reservations without a non-refundable requirement.

One exception - I think the system restricts changing to the same room. So, if you wanted to book the same room at the discounted rate (i.e. a CSR Water View to a CSR Water View), you would simply book the new room at the AP rate and then cancel the old one as soon as you finished.

I've done both of these before with no issue. Sometime the CM at the reservation line will streamline it so it looks like you are simply getting the discount. But, I've heard that can be hit or miss. So, I typically take one of these two approaches.