3rd day at DLR: Full park day or Halloween party?

FriendoftheHatter

Earning My Ears
Hello all,
I'm a WDW vet (and CP alum) but i'll be taking my first trip to Disneyland with my mom in early october. We'll be there from sunday to tuesday and we can spend a full day in the parks all three days. We're planning on getting 3 day park hoppers or 2 day park hoppers and a Halloween party ticket. I'm looking for opinions on which to do.

Halloween party pros:
We love the villains so doing some villain pictures would be great
I've heard ride lines are a lot shorter so we can be more efficient with the shorter time
Having the morning to explore DTD and the disney hotels would be cool
I love watching the fireworks with the castle my last day at disney

3rd ticket day pros:
much more park time that day
a little cheaper
early morning magic with the 3 day ticket(?)

Disneyland vets let me know your thoughts!

Last edited:
You do get Magic Morning with most 3-day or longer pre-purchased tickets, but assuming the schedule holds, your only day will be Tuesday (Sun and Mon usually only have EMH at DCA). So you'll need to be able to get there pre-rope drop to really take advantage of the extra hour. It is worth noting that MM in DL only includes Fantasyland and Tomorrowland. It's a good chance to knock out some of the FL or TL attractions (except Alice and PP, who have long lines that build up quickly).

Fireworks: I would try to see whatever show is being offered on Sunday because there is a chance that they'll only be offering fireworks on weekends (Sat and Sun) during that time period. There will be fireworks for MHP, but only guests attending MHP will be able to watch the show from inside the park (you could watch them from the Esplande if you opt to forgo MHP on Tuesday, but they do not pipe in the music and you can't see any of the castle effects).