Wired internet at fort or nearby??

Discussion in 'Camping at Disney World' started by jennypenny, Dec 17, 2008.

  1. jennypenny

    jennypenny DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    May 11, 2000
    Messages:
    1,218
    We're thinking of sneaking down the week after christmas. But my DH would need to work while we are there. He has wireless but he has to use wired access for some things (security reasons). Is there someplace to work with wired access? Usually he only needs wireless access but not this time.
     
  2. Avatar

    Google AdSense Guest Advertisement


    to hide this advert.
  3. BradyBz12

    BradyBz12 1340.63 miles too far from the Fort

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    6,274
    I used one of the cable modems they have available here a couple of years ago, as long as you're on a site with cable or in a cabin. Easy to use. They charge your card for a pretty hefty deposit, but you get it back when you return it.

    Only catch is that there are a limited number available, and I'm not sure if you can reserve them - you might want to call directly and confirm.
     
  4. ynottony99

    ynottony99 Ask me about the Mickey Waffles!!!!!!!

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2004
    Messages:
    3,648
    Someone here said that you can bring your own cable modem and hook it up. You will still have to pay for network access. I am not sure about it, but if you can confirm, might resolve any concerns.
     
  5. jennypenny

    jennypenny DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    May 11, 2000
    Messages:
    1,218
    I have to find a backup since he'll HAVE to connect while we're there. I'll call the business centers at BW and YC. Do any of the hotels near MK have a business center??
     
  6. Shan-man

    Shan-man ¿sɐɯʇsıɹɥɔ lıʇ, sʎɐp ʎuɐɯ ʍoH

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,798
    I think I heard on the PodCast some time ago that all the deluxe resorts have a business center, so it may be worthwhile to call Wilderness Lodge and Contemporary (each a boat ride away).
     
  7. Tri-circle-D

    Tri-circle-D <font color=peach>Throwing some love to TCD<br><fo

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    4,938
    There is indeed a very nice business center at the Contemporary. But, if your DH is bringing his own computer, there are also ports for High Speed Internet access in the Fort's "Internet Cafe," which is located, for some reason, in the little building between the check in lanes. On my last visit, I saw that they even had Cat5 cables there for use.

    As already stated, the Internet access on the camping loops and in the cabin is wired access, not wireless.

    The information on this old thread is still accurate:

    High Speed Internet at the Fort

    TCD
     
  8. ynottony99

    ynottony99 Ask me about the Mickey Waffles!!!!!!!

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2004
    Messages:
    3,648
    Here are a couple of more photos of the "Internet Cafe". I had never stepped foot in here until the last trip when I was snooping around for the Before/After thread.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  9. Tri-circle-D

    Tri-circle-D <font color=peach>Throwing some love to TCD<br><fo

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    4,938
    The last two photos that Tony posted above show the cables that I was talking about. They are already plugged into the wall, so you would just have to connect your computer, and you are on your way. You still have to pay the charge for the high speed connection, but there is also free dial up there.

    TCD
     
  10. testtubes

    testtubes Mike and Karen

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Messages:
    220
    I was at the Fort @ site 1330 from 12/5 thru 12/16. I used the cable modem kit that you can rent. The deposit is $125 but it is just held agaist your card and is removed when you check out.
    The fee is $9.60 for 24 continuous hours so I would check business emails at 6pm one day and at 5pm the next. That way I only bought the service every other day and I think my total was around $60 for the week.
    I had no problems with the cable modem and it was reasonably fast.

    By the way my computer did find a weak wireless signal from that site but I didn't mess with it since I was charging off the computer charges anyway.
     
  11. fla4fun

    fla4fun DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    8,755
    WL doesn't have a business center. When my camera died, I used my laptop to order one for in store pickup at a nearby store, but I needed to print the receipt to take with me. When I checked at the front desk at WL, they told me I'd have to go to CR. Since the store was close my office, I just went to the office and printed it before going to the store.

    From what I understand, if the resort has convention meeting space, they have a business center. So that would be GF, CR, YC/BC, BW, and CSR.
     
  12. Cindy F

    Cindy F DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,097
    I just tether my cell phone to my laptop whenever we travel. Unlimited data package for my phone is $15 a month and it's 3G so it's about as fast as cable.
     

Share This Page