What Lens Should I buy

PegIra

DIS Veteran
I am totally new to DSLR, but just bought a Nikon D3100. It came with a
18-55mm lens. I want to buy another lens and was thinking of a Sigma 18 to 250 mm lens. We go to WDW a few times a year and also love to cruise Disney. I am particularly interested in a zoom that I can use in the parks and in the theater's on the cruise. We can take pictures of the shows,just no flash, so something for taking pictures of the shows would be great.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Peg

I just got off the Wonder 10-Day and took my Nikon D5000 with my 35mm f/1.8 into the theater every night and got some great shots of the shows. I haven't processed them yet, but I will share some when I am done.

We also went to Disneyland for 5 days which pretty much cemented my decision to buy either the Sigma 18-250 or the Tamaron 18-270 which are both the same price after the mail in rebate.

My suggestion would be to buy them both :)

Those all in one lenses are good at convenience, but that is about it. They are not good at low lighting situations, especially at the tele end where most have around f/6.3 at the widest aperture. Figure out what focal length you need for low light and get a prime lens with at least a f/2.8 aperture, like the one mentioned by the other poster. For telephoto, I suggesta separate lens around 50-200mm or so.

Thanks so much to you both to take the time to try and help me out. Will be anxious to see your pictures Cosine.

Peg