• Controversial Topics
    Several months ago, I added a private sub-forum to allow members to discuss these topics without fear of infractions or banning. It's opt-in, opt-out. Click Here

Valet parking, a question about tipping

helenk

I wish I was in Disney World
I'm thinking of doing valet parking during our stay at the Poly. I've never done this before so excuse my stupid question.
Who do you tip, the driver that brings you your car, or the driver that parks your car when you come back...or both

Conventional practices call for tipping when you pick up the car; and at WDW that's what I did for a long time, assuming the valets shared the tip "pool"
After asking, I found that at WDW they do not share tips. Since then, I tip a couple of bucks on drop off and another couple on pick up. And am glad I never had to do that job!! :smooth:

jctwizzer said:
Conventional practices call for tipping when you pick up the car; and at WDW that's what I did for a long time, assuming the valets shared the tip "pool"
After asking, I found that at WDW they do not share tips. Since then, I tip a couple of bucks on drop off and another couple on pick up. And am glad I never had to do that job!! :smooth:

I'm not against tipping, and I'm CERTAINLY not about to attempt to discourage anyone from tipping any person providing any service! I just wanted to try to explain: Even if the drivers don't pool the tips, they split the jobs somewhat equitably. I mean, it's not as if two valets spend the entire shift parking cars and two others spend the same shift retrieving cars. So it does all work itself out.

Now, this could be more important: While Disney now charges ($6 or $7) in most cases for Valet Parking at the various Resorts, this money does NOT go to the Valets!

kaytieeldr said: