Using Airline miles for flight

maggiew

DIS Veteran
Can you use airline miles for part of your flght (e.g. one segment)? I was planning on using my airline miles for one way to honolulu. I thought I would just get 2 one-way tickets and use miles for one and pay for the other. However, the cost of the one-way ticket is nearly the same as the cost of the round trip! Would I be able to call and get the round trip but have them apply the miles to one way of it???

I've never used miles before. I don't fly much (maybe 2 times a year) so I have been saving up for a long time to use these.

Thanks,
Maggie

Depends on the airline, or on the program details if you have this through your credit card. Some airline milage programs will do a one way for reduced miles, others require a round trip or will charge the round trip milage whether it's one way or round trip. Check the details of your airline or program.

I think just about all airlines use an "all or nothing" on a reservation. It is either all cash or all miles. However, many will allow you to purchase miles so you have the number you need for the reservation.

So you can look into this.

United often has miles and cash for flights. We have never used it because the cost of the cash portion is not often a deal. Why not get one ticket with miles and pay cash for the other?

Yes you can, I do it all the time, esp. around the holidays where I'm not able to get a FF ticket both ways on the days I want. The airlines typically charge half the mileage of a roundtrip FF ticket for a one way - for example, if a round trip is 25K miles, then a one way is 12.5K miles.