Use year

april2011bride

Mouseketeer
When people write "use year" what exactly does that mean? I was in the impression you get the points every year.

Yes, you do get points every year but your year is defined as a "use year" which will be designated by a month, e.g., a "March use year," which means your year runs from March 1 to February 28 (or 29 in leap year) and your points for the year begin March 1. There are 8 possible use years (there are no Jan, May, July, or Nov use years)

Just note that use year does not determine when you can go (which is any time of year) or when you can call to reserve (always 11 months out at home resort, 7 at others). It determines period of time for which any given year's points are effective and your banking date (the date by which you must bank points into your next use year if you are not going to use them during a current use year) which is by the end of the eighth month of your use year.

I'm pretty new at this too. We are now proud owners of 2 home resorts, both of them stripped of points when we bought them (BLT & BWV). My understanding of UY is that you can book your ressies at an 11 month window and also thats when your new points are added on. We have an August UY on both contracts. Hope this helps!

We have a February use year.

We get our annual allotment of points on February 1st, and they are good until January 31st.

If we have points we are not going to use by January 31st, we must bank them into the next use year by September 30th.

We get our annual allotment of points on February 1st, and they are good until January 31st.

lots of us talk like this, but actually our pts for your 2014 use year are already in our accounts if you look online.

the basics of UY are:

1) UY tells you when the pts are valid for stays - a feb UY means your 2013 UY runs from feb 1, 2013 to jan 31, 2014.

2) you can only bank or borrow pts to move them 1 time...up or back 1 use year.