Training

SebastianMichael

Earning My Ears
Hey guys!

So, I'm planning on registering for the 2017 Half-Marathon. I know it's still pretty far away, but since I've only done the odd 5K here and there, I want to be super prepared and I'd rather start scheduling things further in advance than have the date creep up on me. So my question is, about how much time before does full time training start? I've never done long distance running before, but I play varsity sports so I'm athletic and fairly fit. Not the same as running, I know, but I figure it's better than starting with no athletic experience whatsoever.

So yeah, if someone more experienced than me can give me a general idea of what timeline they use, that'd be great!

Thanks so much!

- Sebastian

P.S. I know the runDisney site has those training schedules put up, but I'd someone I can talk to versus something generic put up for everyone.

Depends on what training plan you want to use. The programs on the runDisney site start in early September, while other plans may start a little later. There is no right or wrong plan to use - pick the one that you think will work best for your schedule and that you will stick to, and one that seems approachable for your fitness level.

In the meantime I would highly recommend signing up for a local 10K race that you can use to submit to Disney for corral placement. You could train for that and then pick up your half marathon training plan.

It's important to "peak" at the right time, so whenever you choose the training plan you want to use, make sure you follow it as written and don't start it too early in the year. :)

Ariel484: Yeah, definitely not going to start training right now. I'd be too busy with basketball, baseball, and SAT's anyway! Good to have that general idea in mind though, so thanks! I'm going to def sign up for some local races to get a feel for running in a race and whatnot, but unfortunately, I don't think I'll be able to use it for corral placement.