Tips to avoid cranky pre-schoolers?

Eden

DiSnEyTRAVELmum
What are your tips to avoid crankiness with pre-schoolers at Disney?

PACE yourself. Drink plenty of water. Naps!
I would try to make a list of what your preschoolers want to see and do before you arrive and work towards doing those things.
I haven't taken any preschoolers but I am a preschool teacher and I have had parents talk to me about what works and what doesn't.
I can give you some more hints after I think some more.

Do your research before you go. Know which rides they can/cannot ride (due to height restrictions), and let them know in advance in case they had their hopes up for something they won't be able to go on. If there's a question about whether or not they'll like a ride, have them watch a video of it online.
Make a list of all the rides they're really excited about (chances are for preschoolers that you'll spend a good bit of time in Fantasyland and Toontown), and make sure you hit them first thing.
SNACKS!
STROLLERS! (Too much walking can make anyone cranky!)
Lots of drinks and potty breaks as needed.
After lunch, go back to the hotel and rest or swim. You can always come back to the park after everyone is refreshed.
Take advantage of touring plans for kids and of Fastpasses to minimize wait times.

I don't rush my child out of bed to breakfast or the parks. I let her sleep in a little and she seems to be more rested which = a content child.

This is how we have survived with DD

1) We never do rope drop...we get there when we get there. My DD does much better in the evenings so sleeping in is a must

2) LOTS of water and a mister fan (this depends on the season though)

3) Don't go near rides she was too little to ride.

4) Maclaren is your friend. We gave up a stroller at probably 2 at home but not at Disney. Nothing is worse than being at the back of the park if they decide they don't want to walk anymore