The *BEST* Snickerdoodle Recipe?

Discussion in 'Cooking' started by Darsa, Dec 18, 2009.

1. Darsa

Darsa <font color=deeppink>Has an active imagination<br>

I need one! :) My husband absolutely :lovestruc LOVES :lovestruc snickerdoodles, but only has them at Christmas time. I want to make some to box up and wrap for under the tree, but I want a "tried and true", awesomely yummylicious recipe for them. Anyone have any suggestions?

Oh, and I've never made snickerdoodles before, so I'm a total newb at making them :upsidedow

Thanks in advance! :hug:

2. tcmata

tcmata DIS Veteran

Snickerdoodle (or "cinnamon cookies") are my sons favorites so we make them frequently. I have tried many recipes and so far this one is the best:

Snickerdoodle

3 3/4 cups flour
    1/2 tsp baking soda
    1/2 tsp cream of tartar
    1/2 tsp salt
    1 cup unsalted butter, room temp
    2 cups sugar
    2 eggs
    1/4 cup milk
    1 tsp vanilla
    3 tbsp sugar
    1 tsp cinnamon

Preheat oven to 375. Stir together flour, baking soda, cream of tartar and salt. In another bowl, beat the butter until creamy and smooth. Add 2 cups sugar and beat until fluff and lightened in color. Add eggs, milk and vanilla. Beat well.

Add dry ingredients and mix just until well combined. Form dough into 1 inch balls. Mix remaining sugar and cinnamon. Roll balls in sugar mixture. Place balls 2 inches apart on cookie sheet. Bake 8-10 minutes at 375. If you like them soft, take them out at exactly 8 minutes- they go from soft to crunchy quickly!

3. piratesmate

piratesmate <font color=red>Drah-gun! I don't do that tongue t

This is my grandmother's recipe & it's excellent! That may be in part due to the amount of fat in it...because I have it from another source that is virtually the same - EXCEPT that it calls for ½ c soft butter or margarine or shortening, instead of the full cup. ;)

Snickerdoodles

1 c soft shortening
    1½ c sugar
    2 eggs
    2¾ c flour
    2 tsp cream of tartar