Strange Photos

DisneyDetective

DIS Veteran
I have a Canon 400D with Tamron 18-200mm lens and was in Florida in July 2012. i've just had a look at my photos and discovered wierd ones like these. never happened before and not all like these, very random. :confused3
IMG_6675_zps1c72617e.jpg

IMG_6565_zpsf9cf2503.jpg

IMG_6548_zps45c6d084.jpg

What is it that you think is strange about them? I see a little lens flare, white balance that looks off, and some flat contrast. But they seem pretty run of the mill to me.

it just looks really bright/whitish (if thats a term). in regard to the white balance, i'm still a DSLR novice, is that easily changed. what i don't get is that some photos are fine and others aren't, when you talk about white balance is it to do with the amount of light coming into the lens/camera?

It's the camera's processor trying to figure out the right temperature and tint to apply.
If you shoot in RAW, it's very easy to fix in lightroom.
When shooting in jpeg, you can still correct in lightroom, but not as dramatically.

Download the free trial of lightroom. Try sliding the temperature slider slightly towards gold. Slide the highlight slider to the left.
Those steps should make quite a difference.

You can't download lightroom anymore. is it fairly easy to change the white balance plus what effect does it have ie does it change the settings of the camera because unsure what to change as some photos came out ok and a minute later it would change (see below). so if i took photos this summer would the white balance interfere with the camera settings that produced the first photo? :confused3
Sorry about all this!!
IMG_6543_zps31d5fe56.jpg

IMG_6545_zpsb3dfcaab.jpg

You can't download lightroom anymore.
You can download a free 30-day trail of Lightroom from Adobe's web page. The link is https://www.adobe.com/cfusion/tdrc/index.cfm?product=photoshop_lightroom&promoid&promoid=DTEML