Smartmedia - professional photo printing

Discussion in 'UK Community Board' started by Mpet, Mar 6, 2002.

  1. Mpet

    Mpet Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2002
    Messages:
    297
    You can never keep digital cameras off the boards for very long! LOL

    A simple question - aside from Jessops, does anyone know of any other photo processors that will print from Smartmedia.

    The reason I ask, is that I took 2 cards into Jessops - one they could read and one they couldn't. I can't find anything wrong with the one they had problems with - I can view it through the camera and download to my PC, but I wanted some 'professional' copies of the best shots.

    Maxine
     
  2. Avatar

    Google AdSense Guest Advertisement


    to hide this advert.
  3. BevS97

    BevS97 disney scrapper

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    3,415
    my local Kodak shops prints mine, and I think Boots can do them as well, although I'm not sure what Boots charge.

    I think most independent photo shops can print them now

    Bev
     
  4. Dave Cousins

    Dave Cousins Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    May 2, 2000
    Messages:
    86
    Our local Asda Superstore prints from any kind of media. You could take a CD to them and choose/edit on their PC which photos you want...go do your shopping whilst they print them on their professional printers. Its great.

    Dave
     
  5. Fiona R from UK

    Fiona R from UK Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    May 6, 2001
    Messages:
    298
    Oh blow, Asda is too far away for us!! Are Tescos any good, and do they print from Smartmedia?
     
  6. FrancesG

    FrancesG Love Me Love my Dog !

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2001
    Messages:
    25
    Back to Jessops.

    If you have a CDR then you can put all your shots onto a CD and they will print them from that.

    It's 40 shots for £5.99 and I think 24p per print afterwards, so if you had a lot ( as i did ) just do a few CD's as it works out cheaper.

    I have only just put mine in, so not sure what the pics will be like, but others have used them.

    I did one CD as they were and with the other CD's I did all the cropping etc first and then put them it, so time will tell which will be best.

    Frances x
     
  7. BevS97

    BevS97 disney scrapper

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    3,415
    jessops will also print them from the smart media card (I don't have a CDR - so I do like Frances, all the cropping etc so they are just as I want them, then write it back to the smart media card.)

    If you have 80 pics, then they should charge you the £5.99x2, so you don't need to put them on 2 CD's but make sure you mention it in case you get a dizzy person who tries to charge you 24p each for the 2nd 40 - I have had it happen.

    I have found if you crop them too much then the pics tend to come back a little grainy- but that could be my camera?

    Bev
     
  8. Mpet

    Mpet Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2002
    Messages:
    297
    I got round my problem with Jessops (Their computer could not read one of my Smartmedia Cards), by transferring the photo's to CD.

    I did try ringing round some other processing companies - Snappy Snaps print from Smart Media (although I don't know if it's all their branches), but I was happy with the quality of the first set of prints I received from Jessops, so stuck with them.

    I will see if the quality is the same when I collect them tomorrow


    Maxine
     
  9. Sue's Mum

    Sue's Mum DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    852
    Bev, I have the same problem - every time I do anything to a photo, cut, crop, remove red eye (although for that I use paint instead) the photo loses some of its quality. I haven't yet tried doing everything I want first before saving - up to now I have saved the work each time I've made a change. So must try just saving once to see if that is any better.
     
  10. BevS97

    BevS97 disney scrapper

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    3,415
    Sue;s Mum -

    I'm no expert, but I have read that each time you save a .jpg file you lose some quality, so it's best to just save them once at the end.

    I think if you save the pic as a .tiff while you are working on it, then you should lose less quality and you can convert it to a .jpg at the end (.tiff files are huge)

    maybe Dave (Fatman) will be along soon, he seems to know about these things

    Bev
     

Share This Page