Room requests - how to?

AmericangirlinFrance

DIS Veteran
This may be a dumb question, but I've never done it before...

I am about to book the Carribbean Beach Resort through AAA (we were staying at Pop, but I am getting a rate of $104/night for CBR!!!). I would like to be in the closest (non-preferred rate) building to Old Port Royale. I was thinking Aruba 51 or Jamaica 46? Anyone have other suggestions?

Anyway, since AAA is making the reservation (and not the Disney Travel people), how do I request being placed in these buildings? Do I call the resort directly or fax or what? I am totally clueless.

Thanks!!
Amanda

Personally, since you aren't booking it through Disney, I would make the request as simple as possible. I would just say "Close Old Port Royale". If you try to get too specific, it may get lost in translation between you to AAA to Disney. That way, when you arrive, they already know you want to be close to OPR, and you can be more specific about what's available at that tme.

I would tell your TA your requests and he/she will take care of it. I think it may be done at booking. I would also check with the TA a few days before actually trip.

Last I knew Disney no longer excepted fax requests.

I use a local travel agent and she puts on the ressie: request first choice Aruba 51, second choice Jamaica 45 and I usually get pretty close. I would ask AAA to put your request on the ressie somewhere and asking at check-in if they were able to meet your first or second choice that way if they don't have it, you can let the CM know, very nicely, what you are looking for.

how did you get a AAA rate so low?? we're going during the "value" season and the cheapest price we got for a moderate is $129.... :confused3

Because you booked through a TA, Disney will not allow you to make any changes to your reservation, including adding on requests. All that has to come through your TA. Just call AAA and have them add on your request for a specific building.