Pondering about ADRs....

jenf22

DIS Veteran
I've been to Disney tons of times and this is my first time on the dining plan. We didn't make our reservations until August for our October trip, so I'm learning a lot about the ADR system. Some things I've learned or observed:

1) If you are running late or miss you ADR, you may still be seated and nothing bad happens to your other ADRs
2) You can book as many conflicting ADRs as you want as long as they are under different names
3) People actually plan their meals 180 days in advance
4) ADRs for the restaurants you want are EXTREMELY hard to get... it feels like winning the lottery to get a Chef Mickey at a decent time.

Ok, so here's my question to those seasoned veterans of the ADR system - what is your guess as to the number of people who book multiple ADRs for every meal and just show up to the time that works for them? i.e. Book a Chef Mickey breakfast at 7am, 7:30am, and 8am and then just show up to whichever one works for that day? (I am NOT doing this BTW). Wouldn't you think you would have a decent chance of walking in to any given restaurant? Are there any employees of these restaurants out there? How many no-shows are there at any given time? I'm just wondering if I'm putting WAY too much effort into getting our reservations (I have 5 of 8 set and we leave on Saturday!!!). I don't think a vacation is supposed to be this stressful ;)

I started wondering this after I saw someone release 4 different reservations for the same restaurant over a 2 day period on the October Cancellations thread...

Your general topic (double booking) gets hashed out - usually violently - on the boards every few weeks, until the threads are closed by a moderator.

I don't think very many people do what you are suggesting at all.

Your general topic (double booking) gets hashed out - usually violently - on the boards every few weeks, until the threads are closed by a moderator.