Pizza Stone

joha

Mouseketeer
Hi all!

I started making pizza dough, but when I tried using my pizza stone, it got all stuck to the stone.... :sad2:

My stone did not have any instructions, could you guys help. Do I have to "cure" it, or just use oil before baking, pre-heat?

Thanks! :)

I would maybe sprinkle it with something like cornmeal before you put the dough on it. Wouldn't the oil get too hot and make it crack? I have a pizza stone, too and love it!!! I haven't had dough stick to mine, but that's probably b/c I cheat and buy the Pillsbury kind. ;-)

I used to be a Pampered Chef consultant. I have never made my own dough. I use the Pillsbury Pizza dough but I have seasoned my stone by cooking high fat items on it first (i.e. crescent rolls or cookies) or I brush on Crisco oil. Do not place it in the oven with nothing on it and make sure your food fits on it (to little food on a big stone and it will crack). Good luck. :thumbsup2

How long are you heating it for? It sounds as though it might not have been hot enough. Put it in a cold oven ( bottom rack) and set your oven as hot as it will go. 550 is good if your oven will go that hot, and leave it for no less than 30 minuites, 45 is better. Your oven will get up to heat well before the stone will so you have to give the stone a lot of time to get really hot before you put your pizza on it.

Thanks! My stone did not have instructions, so I just didn't know what to do...

:)

No problem. Here's another hint, since I see you live in FL. The bakery section in Publix sells raw pizza dough and it's very good. I always have three or four in the freezer. If I'm making pizza that night I just take it out and leave it in it's plastic bag on the counter and I'm ready to go at dinner time. If I decide last minute to make it I just buy some fresh at the Publix and give it an hour or so at room temp before using it. Works like a charm and saves me the trouble of making the dough myself.