Online dining reservations

Discussion in 'Disney Restaurants' started by mitros, Jan 13, 2013.

  1. mitros

    mitros <font color=red>I'm not nuts, I just appear to be<

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    4,255
    Looks like the Disney dining reservations online reservations system is down.....AGAIN. Been 2 days now. Every time I log in, I get the message "Server is busy" Anyone else having a problem with this?
     
  2. Avatar

    Google AdSense Guest Advertisement


    to hide this advert.
  3. chocovrdmicears

    chocovrdmicears DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    Messages:
    6,933
    I just logged in and was able to make a dining reservation.
     
  4. mitros

    mitros <font color=red>I'm not nuts, I just appear to be<

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    4,255
    Do you mean just now?
     
  5. chocovrdmicears

    chocovrdmicears DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    Messages:
    6,933
    yup. When I saw your post I logged in and checked for breakfast availability for 5/25 - came right up. :confused3 Are you getting that far? I can go and try to book something and see if that works?
     
  6. mitros

    mitros <font color=red>I'm not nuts, I just appear to be<

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    4,255
    I get all the way up to the last page of what appears to me to be a new server for making reservations. I get as far as the last page, and I keep getting "the server is busy". I tried a few other random restaurants to see if the same thing occurs, and it does. Not sure what is going on here. Maybe I'll just call the dining number.......:confused:

    The date I am making the reservations for is January 24th....
     
  7. chocovrdmicears

    chocovrdmicears DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    Messages:
    6,933
    I don't know....are you looking at the new website or the old?
    I am on the new website and have no problems making reservations. I wonder if you don't need to clear the cookies on your computer? I am sooo no computer skilled - I hope you can fix it soon!
     
  8. mitros

    mitros <font color=red>I'm not nuts, I just appear to be<

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    4,255
    Hey, thanks for the advice. I'm going to try the cookies clearing, but I do not believe that's the problem here. Not sure what's going on. But thanks again! :thumbsup2
     
  9. mlittig

    mlittig DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    5,393
    I can't believe that such a huge company like Disney can have such horrible websites :furious:
     
  10. mitros

    mitros <font color=red>I'm not nuts, I just appear to be<

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    4,255
    Yea, tell me about it.........:(
     
  11. CalSea12

    CalSea12 Desperately needs a dose of the magic!

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    567
    I just made a reservation on the old website, and have been making them over the last couple of days, no issues here.
     
  12. mitros

    mitros <font color=red>I'm not nuts, I just appear to be<

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    4,255
    You know what? Disney should stop playing around with their computer reservation system. Every time they do, they wind up messing something up badly that sometimes takes them weeks to correct.
    I tried to make dining reservations on line, to no avail. The site started sending me to old dining reservations from last year! Does Disney hire high school drop outs to run their computer systems?
    Anyway, I finally got the reservations by calling the automated system which was still unresponsive to certain queries.
    Very frustrating, I have to say. :(:furious:
    I guess I should have waited til tomorrow morning and called the Vacation club, and made my reservations that way, as I usually do.......


    I don't know, maybe it's just me..:sad:
    Perhaps I need to go to computer remedial training!
     
  13. mitros

    mitros <font color=red>I'm not nuts, I just appear to be<

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    4,255
    How do you make reservations at the "old" website? When I was looking for Disney Dining reservations in the search engines, they all bought me to the new site.
     
  14. FiggieFan

    FiggieFan DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,046
    I haven't been able to get to the old site in a couple of weeks, even after clearing cookies and internet history. I was not able to make a reservation in the new website earlier today and had to call - it was saying my zip code and address were wrong with the credit card I entered. I was making a credit card backed ADR.
    I did make another one successfully a few hours ago - did the same thing as earlier and didn't have a problem.
    I really don't trust this new site - it pulled over several reservations that I cancelled and they are showing up as being booked. I called to confirm that they were in fact cancelled, but I don't have much confidence with all the issues arising.
     
  15. mitros

    mitros <font color=red>I'm not nuts, I just appear to be<

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    4,255
    THANK YOU! I thought I was the only one with these problems. Doesn't Disney run tests on their systems BEFORE they open it to the public??:confused3:worried:
     
  16. showers2flowers

    showers2flowers Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012
    Messages:
    113
    The website is next to useless these days it seems. However, I did have luck making and cancelling reservations using the My Disney Experience app on my phone. If it's a credit card hold reservation though, I don't think you can do it. Hope that helps someone :)
     
  17. lyra2007

    lyra2007 Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    Messages:
    118
    I have received the server busy or whatever--the one with Donald Duck. What worked for me was to click "refresh." Worked every time. I use chrome...good luck.
    But then, I am a total newbie and didn't know there was an old site. :)
     
  18. CalSea12

    CalSea12 Desperately needs a dose of the magic!

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    567
    I honestly am not quite sure.... when I use Firefox on my computer it gives me the old website, it has not once given me the new site. But when I use Internet Explorer I get the new website, which I do not like. Also on my ipad I get the old website.
     

Share This Page