Newbies humble and honest opinion???

daboyz5177

Earning My Ears
So I'm a newbie to DVC, but you have to start somewhere...right?
I've been doing a little bit of homework.
1. I think my family will rent points first to get a feel for DVC properties..
2. Most likely would buy resale...
3. Our typical vacations would consist of yearly visits for about 7 days...
4. Would like something that we could have at least 4 adults and 3 kids on occasion, but typically 2 adults and 1 child 5+

What is the amount of points I should look for?
Your thoughts?

The number of points you will need depends on a bunch of factors:
1) What sized units will you be staying in? Some people use studios until they hit occupancy limit. Others use a two bedroom if they have a child with them.
2) How frequently will you be coming as a large group? Every other year or every third year you could calculate a number of carryover points to do it. Or you could buy enough points for the larger group and rent out the extra points when it's only the smaller group.
3) When it is 4 adults and 3 children, do you want share a Grand Villa or Treehouse Villa or use two rooms? Do you want to minimize points by using two studios? Or do you want to do something in between?
4)Which resort do you want to stay at? Each one requires a different number of points and not all have the same room configurations.

There are probably more factors, but this is a start.