New to kid's food allergy

Jaime4004

DIS Veteran
Ahhh! Help me remember to carry an epipen for DS!!! He had an anaphylactic reaction to melon (confirmed with blood test) a few weeks ago. Has oral allergy syndrome so had mild reactions to most raw fruit/veggies but now is supposed to carry an epipen. The school is very good at it, he has one with nurse and one in backpack, knows how to use it, teachers/lunch monitors are all aware. But bad mom keeps forgetting it at home. He's 10 and I know that he needs to learn to remember it too, but it's new for all of us. For example, we were going out to eat a few days ago. I thought about it all day, kept reminding myself that I needed to bring it. What happened? Got to the restaurant and realized that we forgot it. :mad::mad: It's not the melon allergy that i'm worried about, that's easy enough to avoid, it's that another food allergy will appear and we'll be caught off guard, as we were to this one...

Curious to see the answers, I am a nurse in an ER and see people (kids and adults) come in with serious allergies and they tell me that they keep forgetting to carry theirs with them. Hopefully I can hear some thoughts here that I can pass on to them when I discharge them, many times I have been told they can't figure out how to remember it.

Curious to see the answers, I am a nurse in an ER and see people (kids and adults) come in with serious allergies and they tell me that they keep forgetting to carry theirs with them. Hopefully I can hear some thoughts here that I can pass on to them when I discharge them, many times I have been told they can't figure out how to remember it.

I'm a nurse also, which makes me feel worse for forgetting it! It's only been a few weeks so i'm hoping with time it will become habit to take it with us. Until then, i'd love to know what works for others. :-)

Do you carry a purse or a wallet?