• Controversial Topics
    Several months ago, I added a private sub-forum to allow members to discuss these topics without fear of infractions or banning. It's opt-in, opt-out. Click Here

New here - with questions :)

klavven

Earning My Ears
I'm new to disboards- but I'm already addicted to them!!

My husband and I have finally decided to buy DVC after years of "thinking" on it. We have also decided after reading the boards here and doing some research that resale is the way to go.

My question is - when making an offer - how low is too low? We made an offer on SSR last night for $57 a point - offer was about $1000 less than listed. Is that too low? The agent we spoke with felt that we may be going in to low and that we should only deviate $2-$3 per point. I know that he is in this for the money - but we also don't want to go in too low. From what I can tell on here - SSR has been selling as low as $50 per point.

Any advice and input would be greatly appreciated!

A second question - We are looking at traveling in mid-late June. I know that the whole process takes about 8 weeks - putting us closing in late May. Will we still be able to book a Studio or 1 bedroom? (We are not picky about where).

Thanks in advance for all the help!!

$57 doesn't seem "too low" to me. Much of the value depends upon the current state of points. Is it loaded with banked points, etc..., or is it a stripped contract with no points coming until next year?

How would you approach making an offer on a house? I would approach it the same way. Don't start with your best offer, but let the sellers come back to you. It's all part of the game. The brokers want the price to be as high as they can. If you were selling a house (or DVC contract), you would want to receive offers even if they were low. They can always come back with a different offer.