Need your best recipe for GFCF birthday cake

Kiddeokee

Mouseketeer
My niece has autism, and has recently been diagnosed with extreme food allergies. They are putting her on a GFCF diet. I want to bake her a cake, so that I know it is safe for her and I hope that I can make it taste good. Her birthday is next Saturday. We have Whole Foods here, so I can buy ingredients. I want to make it from scratch if possible (I have heard the mixes are icky). Please share your best recipe with me for cake and frosting. It does have to be Gluten Free and Casein free.

I am just learning about this, and appreciate any help you may have.

Bless you for baking your neice a cake I wish my extended family took such interest. Now if you want to make a cake from a mix I found Namaste to be very good. It makes a light cake and a lot. Like I make cupcakes to keep in the freezer for when my DD goes to a party or something and it makes 30!!

But you said that you want to make it from scratch so... here is the one I use. This makes a dense cake almost like a brownie. The top will fall and most likely crack so it can be difficult to make a pretty cake unless you cut off the fallen part

1 1/3 cup GFCF chocolate chips
3/4 C shortening
6 eggs separated
1/2 C sugar divided
2t vanilla

Melt chocolate chips and shortening together. Beat egg yolks and 1/4 cup sugar and 1 t of vanilla until thick and lemon color. Add melted chocolate mixture to the yolks and mix to combine. Beat egg white until stiff peaks add remaining sugar and vanilla. Fold egg whites into the chocolate mixture until combined. Divide mixture in cake pans that have been greased. Bake at 350 for 30 minutes or until tester comes out clean.

If you have a Trader Joes near you their chocolate chips are GFCF

Hope this helps