Medical Debt

lvillotta1

Mouseketeer
I guess this a vent about health insurance. My deductible is $5,500 after that it is a 80/20 max $11,000. We are a family that uses our insurance. That being said I have been paying off medical bills for the last 10yrs. I am medically bankrupt. I am a nurse and make a decent living, but I could just cry b/c so much of my check goes to those bills. We live paycheck to paycheck and I have not been able to put anything away for upcoming bdays,holidays and fall things we like to do. I am going to apply for financial assistance from 2 hospitals to see if they could help. I do have the money to pay a little every month,but I see no end in sight. Such hard working middle class people who are poor b/c of medical care.

I know. I do appreciate some of the aspects of Affordable Health Care, yet one of the casualties continues to be the hardworking middle class that are saddled with high deductibles. I would definitely apply for hospital charity. Most people in my experience either don't know about it, or don't bother. As a nurse, it sounds as if you are very aware. I have never known anyone who applied for charity to get turned down. They always get something, even if not the whole bill written off. Best to you and your family.

I feel for you as I've been paying numerous medical bills, too, for the past few years (as a result of changes with the way the plans work). It seems unrelenting. I think that for many people, including retirees, medical care is one of the biggest expenses they have.