Kimono's vs. Jellyrolls

Lavender_Blue

Dilly Dilly
My fiancee and I are having a wedding in two months and I'm trying to figure out a few details - now don't misunderstand me: I'm not a procrastinator. Our wedding is not going to be some full-blown ceremony. It's mostly going to be a few friends, the parents, and some vows. Not too many bells and whistles. Just a little intimacy. We'll have our bigger wedding later (we already have a savings for that). We're getting married now because financially it's better for us, but I'm not willing to do just the 'at the JOP' thing, so I'm putting together A LITTLE something - for memory's sake.

We'll be having a pre-wedding dinner with friends, and then an after wedding dinner with just family.

For the pre-wedding dinner I was thinking either Kimono's or Jellyrolls. The reason is...I'd love to do some karaoke-ish thing. I don't think Jellyrolls is a place where you can sing, is it? I know it's got duelling pianos but I've also heard about singing....and it'd be nice if I could request any song I wanted and get up and sing if I wanted. I also hear there's dancing.

I love to sing and have been in a few shows and would love to be able to do something fun like karaoke (as I've never done karaoke before!)

I know Kimono's has karaoke hour...would anyone happen to have a list of some of the songs they have? Or know of a way to view it online?

I'm thinking Jellyrolls isn't what I'm looking for, but I had to ask..which would be better?

Jellyrolls is not a restaurant, but a duelling piano bar, lots of fun. Age restriction of those 21 and over to get in, cover charge of $10. You can't get up to sing with the pianists. They take requests and sing for you, but the entire club is encouraged to sing along.

Kimono's serves sushi. I don't know when their karaoke starts, though.

If you want a nice dinner on the Boardwalk area, Flying Fish Cafe would get my vote.