I-81s

TSMAMI

There's a Great Big Beautiful Tomorrow
I usually take 81 to 64 then to 95....I wanted to know has anyone traveled 81 to 77 to 26 then to I-95, if so is it any better?

We've only been once, so I am no expert. We took the 81-77-26-95 route and it was a nice drive for us. This is the route that was recommended to us by some folks who split their time between here and The Villages (a golf retirement community somewhat near Orlando). They make the trip back and forth several times a year and have tried other routes, but found this route to be the best for them.

Deb
Oct. 2007
and MAYBE April 2009

We live in NEPA and take the following route that AAA Triptik gave us - 81S to Rte 66 to 17 to 95 - We pick up 95 near the Falmouth and Fredericksburg areas (exit 133)

I’m guessing that you are probably looking at six-of-one and half-a-dozen of the other. I’d do a little mental calculation and see when I would hit Charlotte. If that time would be during rush hour, I’d tell you not to go that way. The other major drawback to Rt. 81 south of the exit for Rt. 64 is the trucks and the hills. They can be a real pain in rainy weather. Also, if there is any chance of snow in the mountains, stick as close to the coast as you can. Plus, if you take Rt. 77/Rt. 26, you’ll miss the signs for Pedro!

I’m guessing that you are probably looking at six-of-one and half-a-dozen of the other. I’d do a little mental calculation and see when I would hit Charlotte. If that time would be during rush hour, I’d tell you not to go that way. The other major drawback to Rt. 81 south of the exit for Rt. 64 is the trucks and the hills. They can be a real pain in rainy weather. Also, if there is any chance of snow in the mountains, stick as close to the coast as you can. Plus, if you take Rt. 77/Rt. 26, you’ll miss the signs for Pedro!