How much is a restaurant meal in your area?

Freyja

<font color=red>Formerly known as Sleepless in Den
DH and I are planning a coast to coast trip from NYC to LA (including somewhere around Philadelphia, Memphis, Nashville, Dallas, El Paso, Phoenix)with our 5 kids. I´m trying to make a budget and would like to know how much an average meal in a family style restaurant in your area costs? I´m thinking maybe entrée and desert and soda. Are the portions big? We hardly ever finish any portions in the US. Would it be o.k. if we split meals?

Any help would be greatly appreciated :)

I think it's totally ok to split meals. I worked in a restaurant for years, and many many people split the meals.

I just went to a nice sit down restaurant today, with my three boys. We had three adult meals, and one kids meal, everyone had a soda to drink. It cost us $43.00 before the tip. But, this is an expensive place for us, a rare treat.

It was enough food, that all three of my sons brought home half of their food, to enjoy later.

But, for our family of five, it can range from $20 at taco bell, to $70 at some of the nicer places we take the kids (meaning, we don't go to the *really* nice restaurants, where the kids would be very out of place).

Kids meals portion sizes are much more reasonable, and I often order off of the kids menu when we eat out.

The "family style" restaurants we go to have entrees from $5-12. Some places in the US charge a "Plate fee" to share a meal. Usually it's $1-2. There are no restaurants near us that charge this fee, but when we've traveled we've encountered a few.

Thank you very much! It´s great to see some numbers in order to have some kind of idea what to expect. Our only comparison really is NYC, downtown DC and Disney. Probably all of these places are above average price wise.