• Controversial Topics
    Several months ago, I added a private sub-forum to allow members to discuss these topics without fear of infractions or banning. It's opt-in, opt-out. Corey Click Here

High school band trip to NY City....help

momxx5

DIS Veteran
The opportunity for myself, and my freshman, has fallen into our laps for us to join the high school band trip.

As far as I can tell our only expense will be food. The trip is paid for, as well as breakfast daily and tickets to 2 shows.

We will not be shopping or paying for any tours. Our tours will be of the free awesome experiences of being in NYC. I have been a few times as a teenager(oh, 100 yrs ago) so although I am familiar with the big city I am by no means an expert.

So, I am looking for some budget friendly advice as to some things to see, do and plan meals.

We will be there this Thurs thru Saturday...so almost 3 whole days. Day One includes a late afternoon show and spending the day around Times Square(if I correct) and Day Tw0 includes an early evening show...Phantom!!! and most of the day near Central Park. Day Three will be spent down near the waterfront in Manhattan.....walking Wall Street, checking out United Nations, Empire State Building, etc and then departing for home.

One thing my boys (all boys in group I'll be chaperoning) want to do is head over to the Bronx to "hang out with some kids and maybe a pickup game of basketball". Not so sure that will happen as just the time alone to get to Bronx and back may be an issue.

What would you suggest as a fair budget per person for food. My oldest(junior) is also going....he has been scheduled to go since the start of the school year. So basically it would be food for 3 adults, as my boys are big boys. There is no time or great interest in any fancy sit down meals.

A HUGE thank you in advance of any advice, ideas or suggestions.

Please??