Help! I have a cold..any suggestions?

CatDisney16

Earning My Ears
Hello everyone. I have just came down with a cold (runny nose and a slight sore throat). I am leaving in 2 days and I really don't want the cold to effect my trip. I've heard espically that people really ahouldnt fly with a cold. Please let me kno if anyone else has ever had this problem and what you did to help it. Thank you very much!

I'm a substitute teacher and spend a lot of time around kids and their germs.

I take Airborne as soon as I start to feel a bit icky, and continue to take it till I feel better again. It runs about $5 a pack at Wal-Mart. There is also a gummy version that you can chew on. I eat those when my throat is sore and it makes it feel better (although they taste pretty yucky).

Sorry to hear you feel sick right before your trip, feel better!

Try taking a decongestant a little before your flight so that you're not so congested. If you're ears ache try warm washclotes against the ear, gum, and upside down cups held against the ears.

Try Zicam. I'm a teacher and so I get colds quite often. Any time I start to feel a cold coming on, I take Zicam. It keeps me from feeling bad, cuts the cold down to about 5 days. I've used it twice this year so far and my husband is using it right now. He's feeling a lot better too. HTH:goodvibes

My Doctor always tells me a cold will go away in a week or seven days, which ever comes first! :rotfl2: Real funny guy my Doctor. Seriously, it may sound corny but I just drink LOTS of water, get a good decongestant, eat some home made chicken soup and wait it out. Stay positive, this too shall pass.....

I second Zicam. We've tried Airborne and like it as well but Zicam seems to really zap it for us! Hope you feel better!