• Controversial Topics
    Several months ago, I added a private sub-forum to allow members to discuss these topics without fear of infractions or banning. It's opt-in, opt-out. Corey Click Here

Help! How to approach topic...?

Up_Is_Down

"After all, he's a blacksmith..." "No. He's a Pira
Our wedding is this Friday :woohoo: and we are finalizing linens and seating arrangements. We have already given our final counts to the vendors and the linens need a final count tomorrow...

At work, I invited my boss and my 3 co-workers. My co-workers are coming, but my boss rsvp'ed no. All of a sudden, in the last few days or so, my boss started talking about how she is excited to see the wedding and how things have come together- she has said several other things like this that make it sound like she is planning on going now... :headache:

I am fairly new to this job (8 months) so I don't know her that well. How can I approach this topic without making it awkward...? I don't want her to feel like she is not welcome, but she said she wasn't coming so we don't have a spot for her as of right now... :sad2:

Hmm, that is a tough one. If you could find a way to squeeze her in I'd say something like "Oh, you can make it after all?" and then go from there. If you cannot squeeze her in then you need to address it ASAP. I'd say something like "I wish you could have made it, I'll be sure to bring in pictures so you can see how the day turned out". Is it possible that maybe she is just talking about seeing pictures of the day after the fact?

Hmm, that is a tough one. If you could find a way to squeeze her in I'd say something like "Oh, you can make it after all?" and then go from there. If you cannot squeeze her in then you need to address it ASAP. I'd say something like "I wish you could have made it, I'll be sure to bring in pictures so you can see how the day turned out". Is it possible that maybe she is just talking about seeing pictures of the day after the fact?